iguana man

gilly

Remember when we built forts? Flanked the neighbors with water pistols and got arrested by the cops for trespassing? Stole popsicles, tripped home and you gave me band-aid? Do you remember lying about your report card? Do you remember who signed it for you? Ate frog legs in Shanghai? Skipped train fare in Venice?

Then he ran off to Peru to fight on horseback with the Zapatistas, get lost in waterfalls in the amazon, snap the necks of tenacious bears with his hands (now bigger, more adept), call home once in awhile before the Sabbath, bathe children when necessary, make love to iguanas and bury himself in indigenous earth.

“that’s your brother.”
“who?”
“him.”
“can’t be.”
“yeah.”
“he looks bigger.”
“well. he grew a lot. go say hi.”


had the first 20 minute conversation with my brother in 2 months. he’s in honduras right now. teaching orphans how to survive. big ups.

Published by

urbaneskimo

I'm fascinated with people, their stories, where they're coming from and where they're headed. Met many, and now it's time to write my own. follow the footprint.

2 thoughts on “iguana man”

  1. Zapatistas are in Chiapas, Mexico, not Peru, my dear Aaron. I met one. Funny guy. He was holding an assault rifle when he sold me a t-shirt. It reminded me of Israel.

    My wrist hurts too. Except I don’t have any good explanation for it. I’m so talented at injuring myself I apparently don’t even notice when I do it.

    Your posts are fun. 🙂

  2. Oh that Gil.

    Yo! Aaron! I can’t believe you’re in Israel. For how long? You Smalls are going global.

    Interesting blog. I shall keep up with it.

    – Zarah

Leave a Reply

