what its like..

It’s cold. Winter is allegedly ending tonight, bringing promise of 100 degree weather till May. Kick ass.  To counteract the heat we’re starting our day a half hour earlier, to 6:00 for Chi Kong.  It’s like Tai Chi, but involves more stretching. My body is getting used to this idea of waking up with the sun. The sleeping game is a different story…Our salon is a room built with straw bales and mud.  I found an old red Halloween hat and affixed it to the energy efficient light on top, which generates less heat. It’s pretty sweet and the room, or should I say, womb, (ha!) is quite popular.  It feels like a hostel, with a lot of people traffic in and out.

We started permaculture last week. It’s gold. I knew a bit about Bill Mollison and some of his guild techniques, but now getting into the principles that encompass this theory. Theory, lifestyles, perspective, paradigm…Permaculture is everything, and nothing. It’s disorder among order, it’s order among disorder. A no waste, super efficient, eco friendly, holistic way of behavior, methods, goals, life, and all processes.

My parents are curious as to what exactly I’m doing here. Seed balls, irrigation, no till farming, compost, birdwatching, eco design, soil analysis, clay, carbon and nitrogen, vermicompost and why worms kick ass, plants plants and plants, mud structures, mud building, mud mixing…the list goes on, and we’re not even halfway yet. But it’s bigger than that. It’s like stumbling through a jungle, lost and without water and discovering an entirely new world of self-sufficiency, greendom, and healthiness rushing through everything. 

I think I’ve found what I’ve been seeking. Or maybe what I’m seeking has found me.  A true Gemini, whose interests and passions come and go faster than a train in Germany, it’s nice to finally get attached, but not obsessed, with something and stick to it.  My friend here, Healey, yeah, she said the same thing today.  It’s like that.

Oh and I went to Jordan last week, saw Petra, ancient city… Probably more well known as the set of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. I saw the temple where they got the Grail.  I went in.  I have the Holy Grail.

Published by

urbaneskimo

I'm fascinated with people, their stories, where they're coming from and where they're headed. Met many, and now it's time to write my own. follow the footprint.

Leave a Reply

