why do we go crazy for fireworks?

I’m on the 6 headed inbound – a wheelchaired panhandler straps, the bus bumps and he jumps, my hand on his armrest so he doesn’t tip forward. click click HE’S IN NOW without a thank you, nod, gesture, any form of acknowledgement would suffice. – the australian comedic performer on my left, his north face jacket reeks of tequila, stares puzzled when i mention flight of the conchords  – people people people we are stuffed like sardines, asian moses leading the cattle car towards the wharf – no one sees anything – CAN I BUM A CIGARRETE? – cars paralyzed on embarcadero its claustraphobic suicide – with 40,000 people out on the street who operates a vehicle? – fireworks, red white and blue artillery shells blanketing and pounding the sky into independent submission – john adams and patrick henry are here, shouting GIVE me liberty or give me DEATH! ; get me on a bus, and way the fuck out of here – asian woman, 65, gloves, digging through trash, my cans her recycled treasure, balancing seventy pounds on her shoulders like a vietnamese mango seller – drunk 16 year olds on the bus, lost, YO WHAT’S UP DUDE DO YOU GOT AN EXTRA CIGARETTE? I’m 15 and a half, my brother here is 18. – haight and masonic, walk up up, when you hit the fog make a right.

why do we go so fucking crazy to see fireworks?

Published by

urbaneskimo

I'm fascinated with people, their stories, where they're coming from and where they're headed. Met many, and now it's time to write my own. follow the footprint.

Leave a Reply

